Dear Nicky,

I have been doing more searches for candidates in Matchmaker and I have a question. When the candidates come up, some say Reveal Name and others show the name. Why is that?

Searching in Suttons Bay

Dear Searching,

Matchmaker allows users to determine whether they want trading partners to see their candidate names immediately or use a blinding option. The blinding option requires a user to specifically request the candidate's name (one click), which adds an extra layer of security by recording the action for the record-holder to view. Some members want to know who is looking at their candidate records, so the blinding option achieves that goal. There are other members who are open to sharing all of their candidate details immediately; those members have chosen to turn off blinding. The default is for all candidates to be blinded; members must overtly turn off blinding.

Blinding is an all-or-nothing option - it is a feature that is applied at the FIRM level, not the individual recruiter level (and not on a per-candidate basis). Either ALL candidates for the firm are blinded, or ALL candidates for the firm are NOT blinded.

If you would like to change the settings for the candidates in your office, please follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Matchmaker, https://npa-matchmaker.com
  2. Select My Account>Update Office Settings
  3. Scroll down to the Candidate Blinding section of the screen and select Yes or No to the "Blind candidate contact information from other recruiters?" question

Nicky

send letters to: nanderson@npaworldwide.com